Phone: (804) - 272 - 0992
2040 McRae Road
Bon Air, Virginia 23235

Facebook Google Maps E-mail RSS
Home Our Church Today & Yesterday

Today & Yesterday

Celebrating God’s Beauty ~ Loving God’s People ~ Serving God’s World!

St. Michael’s Mission Statement, adopted 2013

St. Michael’s Episcopal Church is a vibrant community of faith living out our mission to Celebrate, Love, and Serve through worship and ministries in the church as well as outreach and mission in the world. , outreach, faith formation, fellowship and pastoral care.

Learn more about the Episcopal Church by Clicking Here

1946 Mr. Roscoe H. Crosier begins collecting names who might support an Episcopal Church in Bon Air


The Ven Norman E. Taylor, Archdeacon of the Diocese of Southern Virginia, organizes and celebrates the mission. The first service held in the old Bon Air Community House. The name St. Michael’s was approved and a vestry was elected.

Months later St. Michael’s purchased the old Methodist Church building which stood on what is now the front lawn.

1952-1954 Mr. Charles Vache was minister-in-charge.

1955 The Rev. Vache becomes Rector. When he leaves in 1957, St.Michael’s was self-supporting.

1957 St. Michael’s Episcopal School is founded.

1957-1965 The Rev. Webster Simmons is rector.

1960 The Rev. William Blotter becomes Assistant Rector

1966-1989 The Rev. Robert Steilberg is rector.

1967 The Rev. James Mathieson becomes Assistant Rector

1969 The Rev. Claude Turner becomes Assistant Rector

1973-1975 The Rev. Charles Cook is Assistant Rector

1983-1989 The Rev. Wesley Hinton is Assistant Rector

1989-1990 The Rev. Bob New is Interim Rector








1990-2004 The Rev. William Wickham becomes Rector

2001-2004 The Rev. Marjorie Bevins is Assistant Rector.

2004-2006 The Rev. Charles Johnson is Interim Rector

2006-2011 The Rev. Greg Hodgson is Rector

2012 The Rev. Canon James Smith is Interim Rector-Locum Tenens

July 2012 The Rev. Becki Dean becomes Deacon

October 2012 The Rev. Canon Jeunee Godsey becomes Rector- Time Certain

Installed as Rector- September 2015